Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Solo
Publisher: Zozer Games
by David M. H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/25/2021 03:35:20

This is a truly solo RPG in the style of Traveller. Basically when you come across a situation in the plot, you roll very few dice with few modifiers to decide what the OUTCOME will be, not the how, why details etc. Having decided on the outcome, you write in the details according to how well the event actually went. Now I liked this approach It's more akin to guided story telling, and at the beginning seems all wrong after years of concentrating on the details of a scene, shooting, making skill scores and the like. Here you decide how it went first, "The gang gets away,two of us are wounded, the enemy is really mad" You then get to write that into the storyline, which will affect future events. There are various types of adventure styles included, from classic exploring, trade, freebooters, and even military missions. They all have differing tables, though the basic framework remains the same



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Solo
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

In the Trenches: Doughboys
Publisher: Tiny Battle Publishing
by David M. H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/25/2021 03:24:56

See Devil Dogs. In this, the Americans defend in the three scenarios. You do get tanks in this game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In the Trenches: Doughboys
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

In the Trenches: Devil Dogs
Publisher: Tiny Battle Publishing
by David M. H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/25/2021 03:07:21

When I finally got through the rule book I loved this game. Note the rules are not difficult, some things are not where I expected them to be, so be prepared to read WELL and maybe a couple of times. The idea of activation, and getting completely exhausted by simply moving is really good. The game moves at a good pace but presents you with all the problems that the First World War gave



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In the Trenches: Devil Dogs
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Five Parsecs From Home
Publisher: Nordic Weasel Games
by David M. H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/25/2021 03:03:22

Liked the campaign system but not a fan of the resoltion of combat



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Five Parsecs From Home
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Devil's to Pay!
Publisher: Tiny Battle Publishing
by David M. H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/25/2021 02:59:56

The precursor to the Longstreet Attcks seres by Revolution games. A beaurtiful Rick Barber map, chit pull mechanism which makes it ideal for solo play My only gripe is the combat system which seems a bit clunky at first. You need two rolls on two different combat charts. (the two rolls can be shortened by rolling different coloured dice together, suggested in the rules)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Devil's to Pay!
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Gaines's Mill
Publisher: Tiny Battle Publishing
by David M. H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/25/2021 02:54:21

Good little game that I enjoyed. It is a nicely designed product with very pleasing graphics.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gaines's Mill
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Wars of Marcus Aurelius
Publisher: Hollandspiele
by David H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/13/2020 12:54:13

OK I have the same gripes for lack of A4 sizes that I have with all games files

However, I think Jean has a lousy printer shop too

I do the map at my copy shop on a single sheet, cost about 5 euros.

Counters fit onto A4 no problem

The cards I did "to fit" and this was no problem as they come out about 90% size which is fine by me, I do fronts and backs separately as a life of pnp gaming it's the only way to go, gluing your own backs to fronts.

Rulebook is not size dependent either, to be honest I go B/W to save cash here

The game as Jean rightly says is fantastic.

Shop around and get a quote before you do printing. I live in Sicily, hardly a metropolis in my little town, but my Copy shop does me good, and I suppose I paid about 20 euros, it was a block printing and prices get lower the more stuff you print in my experience.

But common you guys WE WANT A4!!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wars of Marcus Aurelius
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

CT-TTB-The Traveller Book
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by David H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/10/2020 05:29:11

A fantastic trip down memory lane for all of us who started RPG Sci Fi with THE great game, probably one of the precursors to this style



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CT-TTB-The Traveller Book
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Rifles in the Pacific
Publisher: Tiny Battle Publishing
by David H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2019 05:10:12

OK Basic premise is that this is a great game, the negative points I have are minore niggles. The basic system is very streamlined and gives a great gaming experience with many decision points in each turn. Quick game to set up, very clear scenario instructions, 8 scenarios but each scenario will be infinately variable for two reasons. The event chits you pull and place on the map at set-up will be different. and the terrain you put in each space (there are only 6 called stripes, and with this variety all games will begin differently. Add to that activation tables that depend on dice rolls and you will see each game will be unique.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rifles in the Pacific
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Horse & Musket: Dawn of an Era
Publisher: Hollandspiele
by David H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/02/2019 12:41:58

This is basically Command and Colors on very intellligent steroids! No cards either. The command is given to the armies each turn in points which they can use for the various actions (Move, Fire, Rally, Charge etc) at differing costs per action and often according to the type of unit. Lord dumbo will get less, and can save few, whereas Duc de Smarty will get a lot and can save tons per turn too. (To a maximum of his command value) (Values from 0-3 for minor commanders, 1-4 for C-in-C's) This is the first of a series and concentrates on battles from the late 1600,s to the early 1700's, including Blenheim, and at 3 different scales permitting smaller battles, such as those of the various Jacobit rebellions to be refought as well as giant engagments. The simple rules are then fleshed out with a whole bundle of optional rules which can be added to taste, here you will find rules for "facing" units which permit the indication of formation with further permutation on combat results. Combat is a simple d10 roll to hit according to a large table, including ranged and close combat with diffent roles needed for different units in different situations. Add on to this the delicious National optional rules and you have a game which, never being simple in its Basic rules, becomes very nuanced with all the rest thrown in. A d6 is used for morale, and is rolled against the only number on the unit counter, this will gradually decrease as when a unit is hit it will be flipped to show a lower number

I liked the game a lot. The usual whinge from us poor Europeans is the fact that the sheets are Letter sized and not A4. This is not usually a hassle, but here with terrain tiles that must fit the map hexes, take care..... I didn't. I did all the terrain tiles then discovered the map sections wouldn't fit A4..... The only way round this was to print each letter page onto an A3 cardboard sheet. The units did't matter, as only the title of each unit page got sliced off.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Horse & Musket: Dawn of an Era
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

For King or Empress: Fast Play Rules for Miniatures Battles Covering the Seven Years War
Publisher: First Command Wargames
by David H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/12/2018 10:01:01

I really enjoyed these rules and at bang per buck they are great value. Very similar to the Osprey rules but with just that bit more depth that makes them enjoyable. The whole unit basing might not suit some but I find this OK, wheras in the Osprey set it just doesn't click.ù Excellent too are the reference sheets on Army sizes, small and large, and for differing periods of the war in some cases. Great depth and character here, I love it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
For King or Empress: Fast Play Rules for Miniatures Battles Covering the Seven Years War
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review! We like the rules as well. Have you checked our Facebook Group for First Command? We use the file section for scenarios and other items related to our rules.
Table Battles
Publisher: Hollandspiele
by David H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/08/2018 12:10:55

Really enjoyed the experience. Very unusual game that merits being given a run. Plays well solitaire too.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Table Battles
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Agricola, Master of Britain
Publisher: Hollandspiele
by David H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2017 12:39:02

A great little game. The mechanisms are simple but leave an aweful lot of hard decision making to be made. I still have to win a good victory. Ther AI is not dumb, it has it's own logic, and a very clever system of opaque containers to hide who is actually on your side a nd who isn't



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Agricola, Master of Britain
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

TMP: Energy Empire
Publisher: Minion Games
by David H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2017 12:33:15

Great game, but not an easy build. It will great when finished



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TMP: Energy Empire
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Chain Reaction Card Game
Publisher: Minion Games
by David H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/14/2017 11:04:06

The mechanics are simple and it is also not dependent on language. Basically each card can be used for personnel (labourers, engineers or scientists) OR as a facility of some type (university, mine, factory or enrichment establishment). First you must mine the uranium, then you must enrich it and then you can build bombs with the uranium you've stockpiled. A very clever game. No luck apart from the draw of the cards, so you must learn to play the cards you've got to the best of your ability. This game is also great fun SOLO, and the cards for use in a 2+player game have special text for solo play.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Chain Reaction Card Game
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 22 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates