Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Five Parsecs Bug Hunt
by David M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2021 12:31:44

If you wat to have a great time getting your butt kicked by the game system, Five Parsecs: Bug Hunt is a good way to go.

It's in the Five Parsecs from Home family of rules done in the old NWG format so it's very printer friendly but lacks the flash of the Modiphius book. Like the current edition of Five Parsecs, it's based on 2e with some mechanical tweaks. In this case you start with a team of three military operatives and you roll for extra support and weapons for every mission. You face waves of blips that spawn enemy melee types (bugs, zombies, cybernetic nightmares) and try to accomplish your objectives before calling for evac. It's fun, brutal, and when your military folk muster out you can add them to your crew of Five Parsecs from Home.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Five Parsecs Bug Hunt
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Five Parsecs: Salvage Jobs
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2021 02:32:25

5p made me a NWG fan. This module turned me into an unholy shill for these games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Five Parsecs: Salvage Jobs
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Five Parsecs From Home
by David M. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2021 03:03:22

Liked the campaign system but not a fan of the resoltion of combat



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Five Parsecs From Home
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Five Parsecs Bug Hunt
by Alden T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2021 22:03:56

I am new to miniature gaming. I picked this up for something to use my minis with since solo gaming is all I have time for now I love that I can use whatever I have instead of having specific sets.

The rules are enjoyable and fairly straightforward. It took me two games. (1.5hrs for the firs and 1 hr for the second) to get the rules down. The randomness of it gives good replay value and keeps it challenging. You'll get the most out of it if you create a narrative to gowith each game. I also recommend finding a group to share your battle reports with if you like playing with people but don't have time to coordinate schedules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Five Parsecs Bug Hunt
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Squad Hammer Core - Peoples Edition
by Anthony G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2021 14:58:59

Squad Hammer is amazing for two huge reasons. One, it is a great lighter slirmish game that is great for gerting any minis to the table quick. Squads, monters, tanks, mechs, indivdual heroes... all here. Mix and Match at will without worry of imbalance. The combat system is quick but still favors tactical smarts, weapons, and gear over standing in the open going rambo. Second, it is an amazing foundation to create ANY setting, any unit, only limited by your imagination. A great little gem from NWG.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Squad Hammer Core - Peoples Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Squad Hammer Core - Peoples Edition
by David R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2021 14:37:41

This is hands down one of the best "engines" for smaller & larger skirmishes. It's incredible elegant in mechanics and allows for a very tactical gameplay experience. I would recommend this to anyone who has a couple of minis available and is interested in exploring different games than your typical grimdark franchiese.

It's very rules light, easy to pick up and really inspiring to make it work for all kinds of settings.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chrome Hammer Ascension
by Anthony G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2021 21:25:48

This is a great skirmish game with some very unique mechanics. It takes a bit to get used to the layout of the rulebook but it is well worth it. Stealth isnt just a roll or a simple concept, but an integral part of the game. Some of the fanstay stuff is a bit odd for the theme, and I would have prefer a little more traditional with the fantasy as extra, but overall, this is easily one of the best solo skirmish game on the market. It slims down the 5 parsecs RPG aspect while still creatimg an amazing narrarive and campaign. Easily 5 stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chrome Hammer Ascension
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Chrome Hammer Ascension
by David R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2021 14:53:44

This is a gem! The game is full lovely funny details and fun references. It's based on the great Squad Hammer Engine (check it out aswell) which leads to fun, tactical and fast flowing games. The campaign system is very detailed and it's great fun to roll up a gang of punks and fight some evil CEOs



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clash on the Fringe.
by Anthony G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/18/2021 09:35:37

This is a fantastic squad based skirmish rule set that allows for the inclusion of individual "hero" units as well. a great blend of individualism and squad. Squads can be highly customized or stock from the book. There is a lot of freedom to make this game specifically for you or get going quick with stock stats from the book. Clash also lets you use modern military minis all the way to sci-fi and aliens. It really covers a lot of ground and does it well. The activation is great at keeping everyone involved and there is still potential for units not to activate depending on opposed activation rolls being tied (which is the perfect opportunity to let the enviroment to do something... move aliens, zombies, throw a curveball etc.).

This really is a perfect hybrid of wanting a band of individuals and having individuals lead an attack with squads (think jedi leading clones in the clone war era).

I highly recoomned this title for anyone looking for this style of skirmish game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clash on the Fringe.
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Five Parsecs Bug Hunt
by Rhys H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2021 16:19:08

5 Parsecs Bug Hunt is a stand alone set of eules based on the 5Parsecs From Home solo RPG skirmish rules. You do not need any other NWG products to play this game. Everything you need to play is contained within this set -Bug Hunt. However, i highly recommend checking out ALL other NWG titles, they are full of great rules and inspiration that can be used across the different rule sets that you can plug and play to your hearts content.

On with the review.

As always with Nordic Weasle Games, the rules layout is excellent, logical, and eady to follow. Where alot of shiny over produced photo heavy expensive rule sets lose themselves and leaves the players scratching their head, tryinv to hunt down a single sentence of rules lost in 10 pages of guff, there is no fear of this happening with NWG titles, and Bug Hunt is no different.

Following from one proper read through, i set up a game with my newly painted, based, and varnished figures, and after just a few turns, i felt completely at home with the turn sequence and moving and shooting rules etc.

It was then, at this point, i realised i was physically grinning to myself. This rarely happens with a solo set of rules and should speak volumes for these rules. I am havung so much fun playing out encounters and the follow up RPG lite campaign turns as well. If you like more RPG heavy campaign turns i highly recommend purchasing Starport Scum and the expansions as well as obviously, all the 5 Parsecs rules and expansions. These titles have amazing rules and details and ideas for deeper RPG play that could easily be incorporated if you were so inclined.

The Rules

Its easy, set up your encounter by following the detailed encounter set up guide. Get your two sides together, the humans, and the bugs, imagine you are in a Hollywood scifi saga where creatures who are ill disposed towards human incursions in space/planets, pray to the dice gods, set your face in an expression of grim determination (stubby cigar optional), say something like "bugs dont surf" and hope for the best.

Bughunt will let you fight movie amd videogame inspired games solo and have great fun.

The rules are intuitive and become second nature after just a few turns.

The bugs on the board are first represented by contact markers which either move directly towards the nearest humans or in a random direction, once the marker is detected, a dice will be rolled according to the specific profile for the bug type included in the rules - there are many profiles for different types of bug enemies, then that many bugs will spawn on that marker. From then on, the bugs move directly towards the nearest human at a predefined rate in their phase.

Humans

Typically you will follow, in the campaign two to four main characters. Typically 3.

Then according to the mission prority rating you spend the priority points on additional troops - such as a 4 man fireteam. You automatically get 1 free 4 man fireteam to accompany the main characters in the encounter. You can spend points on additional combat teams or non-combatant specialist teams if you want, who have their own unique bonuses on the field of battle.

You will usually have 2 or 3 objectives to complete and then you have to call in evac which is not guarenteed to turn up when you want. The idea is to try and keep your characters alive whilst completing objectives as bugs continuously spawn and hunt you down.

There is also a difficulty system whereby you can make it easier or harder, if you so wish as well as variable encounter priority setting. Sometimes you will be fighting a low priority encounter, or medium priority, or high priority respectively. Obviously higher priority will be a harder fight but you will have more support points to buy support teams etc.

What is even better is that you only need approximately 20 miniatures per side.

For the humans you will need a couple of characters, a few 4 man fireteams, and a few groups of different specialists such as a recon team, engineer team, sniper, etc etc.

Overall, superb - soo much fun on your own! Highly recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Five Parsecs Bug Hunt
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Knyghte Pyke and Sworde
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/28/2021 17:07:55

This is a simple but clever Mass skirmish game for medieval warfare. Something sort of unique about it is you don't get into equipping troops. Just general unit types, like Light, Shield, Charger, Missile. Makes list building a breeze.

The dice system is pretty simple too. Usually your rolling 2d6 in order to detirmine outcomes, and if you fail once something bad happens. Fail twice something worse happens.

This is my favorite game for running my Fantasy armies quickly and easily without getting out for a full mass battle. Can't wait for the fantasy supplement coming out which should be a huge book of goodies.

Full disclosure I have been in contact with the author on development of this game. Ivan is a stand out dude, and loves to continue support for his games based on input from fans of his games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Knyghte Pyke and Sworde
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Chrome Hammer
by Josh H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2021 21:48:32

This game is quite a bit of fun. Easy and logical solo play rules, you can string together multiple scenarios for campaigns. Fun, fast gameplay.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chrome Hammer
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Five Leagues Scenario 1: The Sunken Temple
by Georgios A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2021 15:14:49

A well written scenario for Five Leagues from the Borderlands. It's laid out in 7 Chapters, and you can progress without reading the next part, keeping the surprise levels interesting. There aren't any punitive choices during the scenario (e.g. if you did X in Chapter 2, suffer Y in Chapter 5), rather going with the flow of the rolled events.
In my playthrough I got really stuck during the first chapter due a LOT of bad dice rolls, but thankfully, some skills in my party helped alleviate that a little. It has variety in it's encounters (terrain, enemy) and variety in addressing the situations at hand. It is meant for a new warband, so there are times where my battle hardened party (~7 sessions in) had it too easy and with some good dice rolls, after the first Chapter, it was mostly a walk in the park. The associated loot also is quite nice. It gave me many solo play sessions to deal with.

Recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Five Leagues Scenario 1: The Sunken Temple
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Five Leagues from the Borderlands 2E
by Georgios A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2020 15:05:19

Low fantasy... check. Warband management with advancement elements... check. Skirmish wargaming...check. Solo player focused...check.

Five Leagues from the Borderlands succeeds at all the above and even more. This is a choose your own miniatures skirmish wargame with careful balance and some innovative mechanics.

It's low fantasy. The implied setting is medieval western Europe, where magic and monsters are rare. Elves, dwarves, orcs, undead exist in the game at just the right dose to make it interesting. Don't expect wizards riding dragons, shooting fireballs against laser shooting smilodons. It's poverty and ignorance. This is the middle ages, spanning from dark ages to rennaiscance.

It has warband management and you advance each and every one of your members. Rags to riches. Gutter urchin to warlord. You chose their unique gear, armor, weapons. The campaign turn reminded me heavily of old school computer games. They have just enough stats to be interesting and varied without becoming cluttered. There is a clear Follower and Hero distinction and you really want your members to advance to Hero status. Though as the publisher states, you make the game your own.

The skirmish part is very well designed. The average battle plays with around 15 figures for both sides, touching the upper solo limit capacity for me. I had a couple of battles at around 18 figures, which started as cumbersome, until first blood. The game plays really fast, and I always managed to finish a combat session in one seating, 1-2 hours at most, but I also take photographs and notes while playing for my blog reports, which severely increase game time.
The melee exchanges system is just brilliant. It gives an ebb and flow to the combat, with many different results and interesting outcomes.

The solo aspect is what really sealed the deal. The initiative mechanic is so easy to implement that I never looked back. Of course it wouldn't be a solo game without tables. All solo rpg players seek them out, and Five Leagues has them plenty. Tables for encounters, tables for random events, tables for backgrounds. Wherever you need a table, there is one.
Resolutions happen on the spot. There is only minimal notes for future reference.

Five Leagues won't win any stars on artwork or layout. There is just enough pictures to make things distinct. The rules are clearly laid out, and any rules interpretation confusion is usually minor, and usually hunted down on the regular updates. Bookmarking is at the bare minimum. There is a table of contents, with hyperlinks, but that's all there is. I'd like to see some pdf navigation bookmarks and an index at the end. This is a game which wins at gameplay, not at presentation. Though I must admit I've seen improvements over previous versions.

Coming at the game updates. I've followed Five Leagues for the past year. The updates are regular, and there is slight rules tinkering and extra content. The rules changes are either an improvement, or an 'one or the other' case. I haven't found a rule change that got me disappointed.

This is a skirmish wargame with rpg elements, not the other way around, and it's excellent at it. Grab your fantasy miniatures, grab your dice set and go hunt some outlaws ravaging the farms around the village.

5/5 Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Five Leagues from the Borderlands 2E
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Knyghte Pyke and Sworde
by John C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2020 19:16:22

A very simple and light game to learn but with a wealth of things to do that will keep you occupied for a long time including a full campaign system. It may not suit players looking for a more mechanically demanding game but is very much worth a look for most and would probably be a great introductory game to new players as well as narrative driven ones. Also worth noting is although written as a medieval setting it also works just as well for the Arthurian through Viking age.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Knyghte Pyke and Sworde
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 107 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates