Wargame Vault
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Settingless 2: Setting Rules Strike Back
by James M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/17/2021 03:15:33

Good brain food for a GM who is thinking about houserulings for a particular game theme or table group. There is good range of rules in here, with clear explainations to why they might be used and what the consequences are. Some affect character creation, others advancments, a few seem niche but are explained to give a different emphasise for how characters are built. I found it amusing that I had already implemented one of the suggested rules (Slow and Steady) because of how I had interpreted the core rulings.

This is not a essential document, but I think it's good for the price as example material for what a GM could come up with.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Settingless 2: Setting Rules Strike Back
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Martial Options – Edges for Combat and Beyond
by James M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/17/2021 02:39:37

Very much enjoy the simple but fun edges provided here, they seem to be easy to understand but could add so much to players looking into Martial archetypes of any setting. I would recommend this to newer GMs to encourage players to consider all the combat abilites at their disposal.

My favourites are Fast Hands (pull out a heavily concealed firearm or grab that forgotten item you need in the blink of an eye), Hustler (dart around the foe quickly and effectively), Sunder Fighting (hit those full plate knights where they hurt and break their shields to boot), Improved Marksman (now allies in the way or foes sneaking up on your sniping position are a smaller nuisance) and Defensive Expertise (makes the Defense action stronger and more flexible). There are only a few edges that are particular overpowered, IMO of course. I will add my opinions to those in the discussion posts.

As a note those who got this years SWAGtember bundle, These edges are by no means overshadowed by the Warriors and Warlords Fantasy add-on. To me, there are plenty of unique edges and prefered improvments to exisiting edges between both. Martial Options is probably the best of the two for it's ease to implement, and how it chooses make more fun combat over balanced but more complex changes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Martial Options – Edges for Combat and Beyond
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Wizards & Mystics (Fantasy Add-On)
by Jeremy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2021 09:52:44

As with the other products in this line, this book has some good ideas. The Arcane Backgrounds in the core book are very much the same. There is no difference between Magic, Miracles, and Psionics other than the name and the casting skill. That is boring. The assumption is that you will get some flavor from your setting (that is the general idea of the core book -- it gives the basics and you build upon it). This helps to give you some ideas on how to make something interesting and gives good mechanical guidelines on how to accomplish it. I have used some of the aracane backgrounds in this book and come up with a few of my own, and it has greatly added to our games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wizards & Mystics (Fantasy Add-On)
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Wizards & Mystics (Fantasy Add-On)
by Ian A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2021 11:44:49

I don't think I can give a product more praise than the fact that I use it frequently. Converting a setting to Savage Worlds means custom arcane backgrounds and this is a smart way to go about it. Often, I'll be wondering how to make an AB and find out that something very similar is already in the book as a sample. Primarily this is a GM facing book. Players can and should get use out of it, but that should be done with the GM involved. You can make all sorts of interesting arcane backgrounds, but that isn't helpful if it's not an appropriate fit for the setting the GM is running.

The book breaks down an Arcane Background to its constinuent parts. The arcane skill, the requirements, its trappings, power list, limitations, and unique features. Then you have 7 points to build the AB.

Of special note is that the features are meant to be priced the same as the Making Races rules in the core Savage Worlds book. This is excellent because it a) gives you a baseline to how potent something is, and b) if you want to go beyond the bounds of this book and add new features, maybe an Arcane Background inherently has you grow permanent claws, well that's 2 points according to Making Races, so that's 2 points worth of features!

While this doesn't cover every single situation that I've come up with, it has made the work easier for me 90% of the time. If you're making a custom arcane background, I can't recommend this enough.

I also want to point out that there is a great example of how mechanics do a specific thing and trappings make it truly unique. An example AB in the book is the Shaman. All powers are granted by spirits the shaman has bound themself to. If you lose the spirit, you lose the specific powers it grants. Well, mechanically, this is Weird Device. You're not a crazy supernatural craftsman who has invented a raygun, you're practicing a faith where you commune with spirits. But at the end of the day, your powers are dedicated to a specific something that only you can use, and that if you lose, you need to replace to use the powers. Erego, Weird Device has been appropriated from its Weird Science background to something far more mysterious and mystical.

This kind of out of the box thinking and application of mechanics towards non-obvious trappings shows a fundamental understanding of Savage Worlds that helps me really trust the design philosophy of this line of products.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you very very much, Ian. SW does indeed split mechanics (edges, powers, ...) from narrative (trappings). This is powerful core of the system, a unique twist that makes Savage Worlds a wonderful system.
The Warrior Adept
by Ian A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2021 18:44:59

This product is short, sweet, and I think appropriately priced. It hits a specific niche that I appreciate, that of the Gloomblade, Soulknife, Psychic Warrior, Psylocke from Marvel, etc. And the fact that it is customizable enough to hit all of those examples is of particular merit.

The book is one Arcane Background edge and one Power edge that is a direct upgrade to the Spirit Weapon.

My rating is based entirely on how well I think this product succeeds at it's intent, which I say is 5/5.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Warrior Adept
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Deadlands Classic: 20th Anniversary Edition Core Rulebook
by CD F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2021 16:19:57

This is one of the systems with the most crunch to it, but, because of that, it lets you go for the "called shot" or dive deeper into skills so that there isn't one catchall for too many challenges. The newer system is more streamlined and uses Savage Worlds, which is not a bad thing in my opinion, if that is what you want.

This system is for those who enjoy something that rewards careful study with complex outcomes.

Also, the art is great.

Again, this is not the current version (at the time of this review) for Deadlands.

The newer version's strength is its simplicity and the fact you can use the Savage Worlds System.

Classic Deadlands is complex and for those gamers who like lots of sublte play with the outcomes of your dice rolls.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Classic: 20th Anniversary Edition Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Modern Monsters
by Daniel I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2021 04:35:29

This is a great resoruce for onsters ina modern supernatural game. I love the detail that has gone into each one, especially th plot hooks to get one into your game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Monsters
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

The Dragon of Kraków
by Daniel I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2021 04:21:36

This is a great little adventure but more importantly a sourcebook for eastern european historical fantasy within Savage Worlds. Very useful for anyone wanting to run low fantasy games in fact. Only minor quibble is that the artwork and layout could have been better, but the content is top notch!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Dragon of Kraków
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Power Cards
by Mason E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2021 18:18:43

These are incredibly handy to have. I like having the basics of every power in the SWADE book broken out where I can give them to players to help them remember the powers they have and give them ideas for use. Definitely worth the purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Power Cards
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Augmented Reality Gear
by Garrett W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2021 15:26:29

This is a neat little supplement for adding Augmented Reality tech into your modern or near-future Savage Worlds settings. I found it to be a little wordier and more dense than necessary, but it'll be easy to copy-paste what you need into your own setting doc. There's some useful GM advice for incoporating descriptions of AR into your game as well. It probably wouldn't be hard at all to add this stuff into a Sprawlrunners game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Augmented Reality Gear
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

A Savage Guide to Dinosaurs
by Wayne C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2021 10:11:53

Well written book with stats for a variety of dinosaurs. The included adventure is perfect for a Jurasic Park style game. Well worth the money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Savage Guide to Dinosaurs
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Pathfinder® for Savage Worlds Core Rules
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2021 17:11:13

The hardest thing about one of these type of books is deciding where to not use normal Savage Worlds. Also is it a stand alone product or not. In this case they went with a stand alone product with class opt in. This means your normal Savage World character can adventure with the Fighter and everything still works. I think this is the best way you could have handled this. I also prefer a reprint of the rules to having to carry multiple books around as long as the books to get too large. If your wanting to play some D&D style games using Savage Worlds this book is for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pathfinder® for Savage Worlds Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Pathfinder® for Savage Worlds Core Rules
by Yan N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2021 04:54:25

Finally a way to live some adventures in Golarion without spending hours in the boring fights created by the original Pathfinder system. The book is promising and the class edges are perfect to emulate the usual classes quickly. The transposition is of course not perfect though, so better warn your players that if your group decide to switch to SW, you'll have a little bit of changes here and there. Otherwise, the book is pretty, well written, you don't need the SWADE rulebook to start an adventure. One or two (subjective) regrets though : the bestiary is very thin, no Chimera, no Hydra, only the basic of the basics (you'll need the Pathfinder® for Savage Worlds Bestiary for more) and the iconic classes as the Summoner or the Magus are not included. But if your group is used to the terrible "I miss ... He misses ... I miss again .. He hits, 7 damage, 54 hit points left.", the SW adaptation can bring a very refreshing dynamism and energy to your fights scenes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Herbal Alchemy
by Sam B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2021 12:55:43

This set of alternate rules actually forms the basis for ALL alchemy in my fantasy game. It's a really smart rule set that makes alchemic magic feel like a rare and valuable resource, while staying intuitive to core rules. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Herbal Alchemy
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Big Apple Sewer Samurai
by Kyle C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2021 16:24:44

This micro setting is everything that you could want for a Saturday morning cartoon style game. It brings forth some really cool new ideas and provides a wonderful tool box.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Big Apple Sewer Samurai
Click to show product description

Add to Wargame Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 997 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates